To register for this program, please log in to continue.

If you do not have an account, please create a one by clicking the 'Create account' button above.

Mini Med School 2022

Location: Online Event

Date: 20 April - 8 June 2022


Mini-Med School is Back!

Interested in learning about health and medicine? Want to discover more about medical advancements and how these can affect you in the future? Now is your chance to expand your knowledge and become a "medical student" for eight weeks!

About Mini-Med School
The Faculty of Medicine's Mini-Med School began in February 2004 in the spirit of forging stronger ties with the community and extending the reach of our school by sharing the expertise of our medical faculty. With medicine advancing at a rapid rate, many people are increasingly concerned with maintaining good health and receiving the best treatment possible.

Each night, two members of the medical community will present on areas related to health and medicine. The seminars are intended to explore the scientific basis of topical medical issues followed by a question and answer session. All information is presented in an easy to understand style. The intended audience will range from high-school students who may be interested in medicine as a profession, to seniors with an interest in health and health-related topics.

Experience and participate in large group discussions on various topics presented by members of our medical community.

These sessions will run from April 20 - June 8 and will be held online (via webex).

All fees are inclusive of HST.

Registration Fees


Program Agenda

Wednesday, April 20, 2022
6:30 PM
Our Health. Our Province. Our Future. A 10-Year Health Transformation
Presenter: Dr. Pat Parfrey
Presenter: Sister Elizabeth Davis
7:45 PM
COVID-19 - Epidemiology, Vaccine &Treatment
Presenter: Dr. Peter Daley
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
6:30 PM
Patient and Public engagement in Health Research
Presenter: Dr. Holly Etchegary
Presenter: Mr. Toni Leamon
7:45 PM
Geriatric Psychiatry – An Overview of Dementia: Causes, Symptoms, Treatment and Prevention
Presenter: Dr. Julia Curtis
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
6:30 PM
End of Life Care
Presenter: Dr. Susan MacDonald
7:45 PM
Laboratory Medicine: The Evolving Role of the Laboratory Medicine Physician
Presenter: Dr. Offiong Ikpatt
Wednesday, May 11, 2022
6:30 PM
Anesthesia – Types, Risks and Potential Side Effects
Presenter: Dr. Dolores McKeen
7:45 PM
Stigma Around Mental Illness
Presenter: Dr. Rebecca Harrison
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
6:30 PM
COVID-19 Frontline: ER experience during the pandemic
Presenter: Dr. Margo Wilson
7:45 PM
Cognitive Decline in The Elderly
Presenter: Dr. Khalid Mahmood Jat
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
6:30 PM
Rx Nature: the science and Health Benefits of Nature
Presenter: Dr. Paula Slaney
7:45 PM
Health At Every Size (HAES) approach to Health
Presenter: Dr. Maria Doyle
Wednesday, June 1, 2022
6:30 PM
Social Media and Digital Health
Presenter: Dr. Gerard Farrell
7:45 PM
Health Innovation and Entrepreneurship in Medicine
Presenter: Dr. Chandra Kavanagh
Wednesday, June 8, 2022
6:30 PM
Sugar Sweetened Beverage (SSB) tax and the Health Concerns Around Added Sugar
Presenter: Dr. Scott Harding
7:45 PM
The Obesity Epidemic - How we got here and where we’re headed
Presenter: Dr. Ashley Power


  • Julia Curtis, MD, BSc (Hons)
  • Peter Daley, MD, FRCPC, DTM&H

    Associate Professor, Medicine and Laboratory Medicine
    Memorial University
    Medical Microbiologist, Eastern Health Region

  • Elizabeth Davis
  • Maria Doyle, MD
  • Holly Etchegary, PhD
  • Gerard Farrell, MD

    Director, eHealth Research Unit
    Faculty of Medicine, MUN

  • Scott Harding, PhD
  • Rebecca Harrison, MD
  • Offiong Ikpatt, MD, PhD
  • Khalid Mahmood Jat, M.B.B.S., FRCPC

    Waterford Hospital
    Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
    Faculty of Medicine, MUN

  • Chandra Kavanagh, PhD
  • Toni Leamon
  • Susan MacDonald, MD, CCFP PC FCFP

    Associate Professor of Medicine & Family Medicine
    Faculty of Medicine, MUN
    Medical Director of Palliative Care, Eastern Health

  • Dolores McKeen, MD FRCPC MSc CCPE
  • Pat Parfrey, MD, FRCPC, OC, FRSC

    Professor of Medicine (Nephrology)
    Faculty of Medicine, MUN

  • Ashley Power, MD
  • Paula Slaney, BSc., Dip. Clin. Epi., MD
  • Margo Wilson, MD, CCFP(EM)
    Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine 
    Faculty of Medicine, Memorial University


Funds in support of this CME activity were provided as an educational grant to Memorial University. The funds were independently allocated and disbursed in accordance with current CMA guidelines. An educational grant to help support this program provided by:

The Office of Professional & Educational Development (OPED), Faculty of Medicine, Memorial University, is fully accredited by the Committee on Accreditation of Continuing Medical Education (CACME), a subcommittee of the Committee on Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools (CACMS). This standard allows OPED to assign credits for educational activities based on the criteria established by The College of Family Physicians of Canada, and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.