Refugee Health Symposium: The Realities, Rights and Rewards of Refugee Health in NL

Saturday, March 30, 2019

Topics and Speakers

Registration and Continental Breakfast
Welcome and Opening Remarks
Presenters: Dr. Margaret Steele MD, FRCPC, M.Ed, DFCPA, CCPE Dr. Francoise Guigne MA, MD, CCFP
Settlement Services of the ANC
Presenter: Ms. Jennifer Bessell
Keynote Address: The Best of Both Worlds Maintaining the Health of Newly Arrived Refugees
Presenter: Dr. Meb Rashid MD
Nutrition/Networking break
Female Refugee Panel
Keynote Address: Building Newcomer Futures in Newfoundland and Labrador: Social, Economic, and Cultural Factors in Refugee Resettlement
Presenter: Hon. Hon. Minister Bernard Davis
Refugee Health Clinic Overview /Gateway Overview
Presenters: Dr. Petra Joller BSc, MD, CCFP, COE Dr. Christine Aubrey-Bassler MD, CCFP
Interim Federal Health Program: Understanding its Scope and Utilization
Presenters: Mr. Fred Chaytor Bsc Dr. Christine Aubrey-Bassler MD, CCFP
Nutrition/Networking break
Infectious Diseases
Presenters: Dr. Joanna Joyce MD FRCPC DTM&H Dr. Cheryl Foo MD, FRCPC
Eye Care for New Canadians
Presenter: Dr. Lisa Hounsell
Dental Care for New Canadians
Presenter: Dr. Patrick Snow
Care of Children New to Canada
Presenter: Dr. Jennifer O'Dea MD, FRCP(C)
Panel Discussion Q & A
Closing Remarks

Planning Committee

Mrs. Barbara Albrechtsons
Dr. Jill Allison
Ms. Libby Angel
Dr. Christine Aubrey-Bassler
Dr. Russell Dawe
Dr. Pauline Duke
Dr. Cheryl Foo
Dr. Francoise Guigne
Dr. Petra Joller
Dr. Pamela Snow
Dr. Melanie van Soeren

Accreditation Review

Dr. Heather Flynn

The Office of Professional Development (OPD), Faculty of Medicine, Memorial University, is fully accredited by the Committee on Accreditation of Continuing Medical Education (CACME), a subcommittee of the Committee on Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools (CACMS). This standard allows OPD to assign credits for educational activities based on the criteria established by The College of Family Physicians of Canada, and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.