Please Enter a Search Term

Leadership - Accreditation

MD Program Accreditation

Committee on the Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools (CACMS)

The Committee on the Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools (CACMS) ensures that Canadian medical faculties’ MD programs meet the quality expected when producing tomorrow’s doctors.  Medical schools demonstrating compliance are afforded accreditation, a necessary condition for a program’s graduates to be licensed as physicians.
CACMS came into formal existence in 1979 as a joint effort of the then-Association of Canadian Medical Schools (ACMC) and the Canadian Medical Association. From 1965-2015, the ACMC (now the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada) worked with the Liaison Committee on Medical Education in the United States in the accreditation process for Canadian MD programs. Since July 2015, Canadian medical schools are accredited solely by the CACMS.

Accreditation Status of the MUN Faculty of Medicine MD Undergraduate Program

The MD undergraduate program is fully accredited. The next full accreditation survey will occur during the 2020-21 academic year.

PGME Program Accreditation

The Faculty of Medicine, at Memorial University, offers foureen postgraduate medical education programs leading to certification either through the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC) or College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC)

All programs are externally reviewed every six years. Three years prior to the external review, each discipline will have an internal review.

All MUN residency training programs are fully accredited, with the exception of Neurology, which is having an external review in May 2015.

The next accreditation site survey review is in 2016 for the postgraduate medical education office and all disciplinary programs.

Professional Development and Conferencing Services Accreditation

Professional Development and Conferencing Services (PDCS) is a university-accredited provider of continuing medical education (CME)/continuing professional development (CPD) as designated by the Committee on the Accreditation for Continuing Medical Education (CACME). Such designation allows PDCS to accredit Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC) and College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) CME/CPD activities by following accreditation guidelines set forth by the two colleges.

The review cycle for a site visit is every 5 years.  The last review took place on May 14-15, 2012.  PDCS has received full accreditation status and the next review will be in 2017.

  Add to TwitterAdd to Facebook
Copyright © 2018 Memorial University of Newfoundland.   Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada.