[Error loading the WebPart 'LeftTreeMenu' of type 'cmstreemenu']

Diana L Gustafson

Community Health and Humanities
BA (McMaster), MEd (Brock), PhD (Toronto)

Professor of Social Science and Health
Richard Marceau Fogo Island Fellow 2018

Faculty of Medicine, M4M209
Memorial University of Newfoundland
St. John’s, NL, A1B 3V6
t: 709 864-4966
f: Skype: dgustafs
lab: HSC2840


  • MED6220: Introduction to Community Health
  • AHS6008: Advanced Qualitative Research
  • MED6490: Women & Health
Research Interests:
  • Qualitative methodologies 
  • Narrative inquiry and memoir
  • Improving scholarly writing competencies
  • Social media and health
  • Intersectional analysis of determinants of health
  • Health-related social justice issues

Research Projects:

  • A mixed methods study of the self-directed learning habits of adult learners in a digital age. Funded by SSHRC. Investigators: V Curran, DL Gustafson, L Wetsch, L Fleet, K Simmons
  • The role of chaplaincy services in oil industry workplace wellness. Funded by oil industry. Investigators: DL Gustafson
  • You are what you write: Facilitating student success through improved writing competency. Funded by Dr. Wallace Ingram Award. Investigators: DL Gustafson with E Pye
  • Identifying institutional opportunities for improving medical students’ writing competencies Funded by Medical Education Scholarship Centre. Investigators: DL Gustafson, E Pye
  • Post-secondary students’ HPV awareness and uptake of HPV vaccination Funded by Medical Research Foundation Investigators: DL Gustafson, Y Yi, C Donovan, M Power with M Yonazi


Highlighted Accomplishments

  • Richard Marceau Fogo Island Fellow 2018
  • 2015 Recipient, Dr. Wallace Ingram Award
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Writers' Guild Honouree, 2013
  • Interim Assistant Dean, Graduate Studies, Jul 2011-Feb 2013

  • Memorial University of Newfoundland Student Union (MUNSU) Teaching Award - 2009

Dr. Gustafson receiving the MUNSU Teaching Award
  • Graduate Program Coordinator - 2007-2010
  • Co-recipient with Michelle Murdoch of 2005 John Lord Award for Excellence in Participatory Action Research
Dr. Gustafson receiving the
John Lord Award


  Click here for a list of Publications