News at Medicine - November 2009 - NLCAHR celebrates 10th anniversary

NLCAHR celebrates 10th anniversary
November 3, 2009
It was just a decade ago that the concept of a centre to support the development and use of applied health research in Newfoundland and Labrador became a reality. Starting with limited funding from the Department of Health and Community Services, the Faculty of Medicine and the Health Care Corporation of St. John’s (now Eastern Health), the Newfoundland and Labrador Centre for Applied Health Research (NLCAHR) was established under the umbrella of the Faculty of Medicine, with director Dr. Stephen Bornstein.
NLCAHR’s objectives are to build capacity for undertaking and supporting high quality applied health research in the province; increase the amount and impact of high-quality applied health research undertaken on the priority research themes of Newfoundland and Labrador; and to increase the effective and efficient use of research evidence in the province’s health and community services system.

Since 2001, the centre has funded almost 100 researchers and students and distributed more than $2.1million in research grants and fellowships

On Oct. 10, the NLCAHR held its 10th Anniversary and Awards Reception at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland.  Among those honoured were recipients of the 2009 NLCAHR and NL Healthy Aging Research Program (NL-HARP) awards. The ceremonial event closed the day’s Gender and Health Conference.

Dr. Bornstein was understandably excited as he reviewed the accomplishments of the centre in the past decade. Dr. Ray Gosine, vice-president (Research) and a member of the NLCAHR Board brought greetings and helped present awards along with Suzanne Brake, director of the Aging and Seniors Division, Department of Health and Community Services. Ms. Brake brought greetings on behalf Jerome Kennedy, minister of health.

Fang Liu, Division of Community Health and Humanities in the Faculty of Medicine, received funding for her study of measuring the health status of the aging population with disabilities in Newfoundland and Labrador.
Ellen Haskell, Department of Sociology, was funded for her study on More Sunsets: The social organization of the RV sub-culture.

Geoff Power, Human Kinetics and Recreation, received a doctoral grant for his study titled Muscle fatigue resistance in old and very old women.

Dr. Jared Clarke, Division of BioMedical Sciences (Neuroscience), Faculty of Medicine, received a post-doctoral grant for a study on healthy aging with a chronic neurological disorder – a profile of community-based programs and service gaps.

Pamela Button, Department of Psychology, was awarded a NLCAHR doctoral fellowship for her study titled Dysfunctional Coping Mechanisms in Health Professional Students Dealing with Stress.

The following two students received master’s fellowships from the NLCAHR.  Taylor Ferrier, Division of Community Health and Humanities, Medicine, is studying prostate cancer care and the wait times to see an urologist. Kathleen Little, Clinical Epidemiology, Faculty of  Medicine, is looking at factors associated with social worker turnover and retention in child, youth and family services in Newfoundland and Labrador.

A project grant on healthy aging was awarded to Dr. Marshal Godwin, director of the Primary Healthcare Research Unit, Faculty of Medicine, for a study titled Assessing criterion validity and developing population norms for the Simple Lifestyle Indicator Questionnaire (SLIQ) in the elderly.

Seed grants in the Healthy Aging Program went to Canada Research Chair Dr. Wendy Young for a study on development of an age-friendly communities research team. Dr. Victor Maddalena, Division of Community Health and Humanities, Medicine, was funded for a study on palliative and end of life care in Newfoundland’s deaf community.

NLCAHR project grants were awarded to Dr. Gerard Farrell, e-Health Research Unit, Medicine, on The Effectiveness of the Edmonton Symptom Assessment System (ESAS) in Monitoring Palliative Care Patients in the Community.

A development grant was awarded to Dr. Maria Mathews, Community Health and Humanities, Medicine, for a study on Return-for-Service Programs in Newfoundland and Labrador.

Dr. Kris Aubrey-Bassler, Primary Healthcare Research Unit, Medicine, was awarded a project grant for a study titled Nephrolithiasis in the emergency department: Epidemiology and development of a rule to predict the need for CT diagnosis.
Canada Research Chair Dr. Wendy Young received a seed grant for a study on development of an age-friendly communities research team. The grant comes from the Healthy Aging Program administered by the Newfoundland and Labrador Centre for Applied Health Research, which celebrated its 10th anniversary earlier in October. From left: Suzanne Brake, Dr. Young and Dr. Stephen Bornstein.