News at Medicine - May 2008 - Discipline of Psychiatry Resident Research Day

Discipline of Psychiatry Resident Research Day
May 28, 2008
The Discipline of Psychiatry held its annual Resident Research Day May 23. There were seven presentations and two prizes were awarded. The adjudicators for the event were Drs. Sharon Buehler and Amin Muhammad.

From left: Adjudicators Drs. Amin Muhammad and Sharon Buehler awarded first prize, the Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Excellence in Research 2009, to Drs. Leslie Wheeler, Michelle Temple, and Neal Morgan, right. Susan Terry of Janssen Ortho (third from right) was on hand for the presentation. The presentation was titled “Have the Number of New Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) Cases Seen at the Janeway Psychiatry Department Increased from 2002 to 2007.”

From left: Dr. Amin Muhammad, Dr. Sujay Patel, Dr. Ted Callanan, chair of the Discipline of Psychiatry, and Dr. Sharon Buehler. Dr. Patel and Dr. Chris Bryniak (unavailable for photo) took second place, the Research Prize in Psychiatry 2008, for their presentation titled “A 3-Month Comparison of Adult Involuntary Hospitalizations in St. John’s, Newfoundland: Old Versus New Mental Health Act.”