News at Medicine - July 2014 - New appointments to the Governing Council of CIHR

New appointments to the Governing Council of CIHR
July 4, 2014
Dr. Terry-Lynn Young, an associate professor in Discipline of Genetics, is one of three Canadian women appointed on June 26 to the Governing Council of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). The appointments are for three-year terms.
The two other new appointees are Chris Power, president and CEO of the Capital District Health Authority in Halifax, Nova Scotia; and Dr. Amy Ornstein, a pediatrician and head of general pediatric medicine at IWK Health Centre in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Also re-appointed for a second three-year term to CIHR’s Governing Council are Dr. Nadine Caron, a general and endocrine surgeon and assistant professor at the University of British Columbia, Northern Medical Program, in Prince George, British Columbia; and Maura Davies, president and CEO of the Saskatoon Health Region in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.
The announcement was made by Rona Ambrose, federal minister of health. "I am pleased to announce the appointments and reappointments of these outstanding women to CIHR's Governing Council. They will be important assets and CIHR will benefit from their collective knowledge, valuable leadership and guidance towards achieving excellence. It will also ensure that CIHR will continue to have the expertise and experience required to meet its mandate." 
Dr. Young is a molecular geneticist with specialized expertise in the founder population of Newfoundland. Her research interests are in the areas of breast and ovarian cancer, the genetics of deafness and hearing loss, the genetic epidemiology of pediatric epilepsy, the genetic epidemiology of arrhythmogenic right ventricular cardiomyopathy (ARVC), Bardet–Biedl Syndrome, hereditary non-polyposis colon cancer, gene finding and finding mutations. In 2008 her lab made a breakthrough discovery of the gene mutation responsible for ARVC, also known as Sudden Cardiac Death, a deadly genetic heart condition highly prevalent in Newfoundland and Labrador. 
The Government of Canada is the country's single largest investor in health innovation – primarily through grants funded through CIHR. Composed of 13 Institutes, CIHR provides leadership and support to more than 13,200 health researchers and trainees across Canada.