News at Medicine - December 2009 - Primary Care Researcher Award for family practitioner

Primary Care Researcher Award for family practitioner
December 9, 2009
Dr. Pauline Duke, Discipline of Family Medicine, received the 2009 Primary Care Researcher Award. The presentation was made during the Primary Healthcare Partnership Forum, held Nov. 27-28 in St. John’s. The forum focused on building research capacity in Atlantic Canada and was hosted by Memorial University, the Faculty of Medicine’s Primary Healthcare Research Unit, the Atlantic Practice Based Research Network and the Centre for Rural Health Studies.
Dr. Duke recently is the principal investigator for a 2009 grant from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). This project is related to primary healthcare on many levels – it is a community based intervention study and the results will have implications for clinicians, public health, and policy makers. The study will compare the effectiveness of a self collection strategy for human papilloma virus as a means of screening for cervical cancer.

“Dr. Duke put together a truly multi-disciplinary team to apply for this grant and worked tirelessly to bring together the right people and to get the research proposal to the level needed for a CIHR application,” said Dr. Marshall Godwin, director of the Primary Healthcare Research Unit. 

Dr. Duke is a family physician, academic, researcher, mother of three, wife and patient advocate. After her family medicine training at Dalhousie University and Memorial University she worked in Botwood with Dr. Hugh Twomey, Dr. Judy Ophel and others  for eight years before moving to St. John’s in 1989 to join Memorial University’s Discipline of Family Medicine.  She received an Award of Excellence from the College of Family Physicians of Canada, Newfoundland and was Labrador Chapter in 2009; received the Gus Rowe teaching Award for Family Medicine in 2003; and was named Family Physician of the Year for the Newfoundland and Labrador Chapter of the College of Family Physicians of Canada in 2000.