News at Medicine - August 2008 - Dean Ian Rusted Memorial Golf Tournament

Dean Ian Rusted Memorial Golf Tournament
August 20, 2008
The first annual Dean Ian Rusted Memorial Golf Tournament was held Aug 3. The cool weather did not deter the alumni, students, faculty, staff and friends who turned out to play at Clovelly golf course.

Of the 18 players who participated, top prize went to Dr. Andrea Garland, class of 1985, for best female score and local chef Bob Arniel for best male score. Winners of Closest to the Pin were medical student Andrew Hunt and Lynn Hamilton, while the Longest Drive was taken by Dr. Paul Hamilton, Class of 1988, and Dr. Garland.

“The Medical Graduates’ Society established this event to honour our founding dean and to raise funds for the Dr. Ian Rusted Founder’s Chair in Medical Education,” said Dr. Bridget Picco, president of the Medical Graduates’ Society, at the lunch following the tournament.
Dean James Rourke commented on the importance of Dr. Ian Rusted’s foresight and determination in ensuring the establishment of a medical school at Memorial University in 1967. “Dr. Rusted’s legacy is a thriving and vital Faculty of Medicine that trains world class doctors and health scientists,” he said. “We are establishing the Dr. Ian Rusted Founder’s Chair in Medical Education to honour his contributions to medical education in Newfoundland and Labrador. Through fundraising events like this we are building the endowment for the chair and keeping our memory of Dean Ian Rusted alive.”

Chris Rusted, son of the late Dean Rusted, spoke at the luncheon and told of his experience of growing up during the early days of the medical school. He remarked that not only did the medical school provide a special opportunity for Newfoundlanders to study medicine in their own province, but it also provided  access to people we might otherwise not have attracted to Newfoundland and Labrador. “The best example would be the faculty, but especially the deans we have been able to attract, such as Jim Rourke, who I have come to know and respect in the past year.”

Dr. Andrea Garland, best female score, with Dean James Rourke, centre, and Bob Arniel, best male score.