News at Medicine - September 2020 - Newest Fellow: Faculty member recognized for commitment 

Newest Fellow: Faculty member recognized for commitment 
September 28, 2020
Dr. Michael Grant is among the newest Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS).
Fellows of the CAHS, which recognizes excellence in health sciences, have demonstrated, through their careers and lives, that they are committed to their field of expertise in many ways. 

“To be named amongst such an accomplished group of Canadian health researchers is an unexpected and special honour,” said Dr. Grant. “I enthusiastically look forward to working with the individuals and the academy.” 

Dr. Grant, who is associate dean of the Division of Biomedical Sciences and professor of immunology, started his career as the only biomedical scientist in Atlantic Canada studying HIV. His innovative interdisciplinary work significantly influenced understanding of immunology and infectious disease and helped put Canadian HIV research on the map. His exemplary leadership record is highlighted by election to president, Canadian Association for HIV Research, member, Ministerial Council on HIV/AIDS, chair, CIHR HIV/AIDS Research Advisory Committee, chair, CIHR Virology and Viral Pathogenesis Review panel and chair, Canadian Foundation for AIDS Research Scientific Advisory Committee.
In 2018, Dr. Grant received the Hardy Cinader award, the highest honour bestowed by the Canadian Society for Immunology.
Speaking to the new Fellows, the chair of the Fellowship Committee, Dr. Proton Rahman, who is also the faculty’s associate dean of clinical research, said, “Congratulations on being elected as a Fellow in the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. Your induction is a reflection of your vision, innovation and sustained excellence in your field and, undoubtedly, your expertise will further enrich our Academy.  We are looking forward to your engagement in CAHS’ activities.”
Dr. Paul Allison, CAHS’ president, congratulated the new Fellows and mentioned, “Your dedication to health sciences is what is recognized today. Our Fellows understand that being elected to the academy carries with it a covenant to serve the academy and the future wellbeing of the health sciences, irrespective of the Fellow’s specific discipline.”
Seventy-seven new Fellows were announced on Sept. 18, 2020.