News at Medicine - September 2015 - Professor wins prestigious awards from Bibliographical Society of Canada

Professor wins prestigious awards from Bibliographical Society of Canada
September 15, 2015
Dr. Jennifer Connor, professor of medical humanities in the discipline of psychiatry and cross-appointed to the history department, has been awarded the Marie Tremaine Medal and the Watters-Morley Prize for 2015 by the Bibliographical Society of Canada. 
“I am truly honoured to accept these awards from the Bibliographical Society of Canada,” said Dr. Connor. “I am pleased and humbled that my scholarship in the history of medical publishing  has received such important recognition by the Society.”
The Marie Tremaine Medal is awarded by the Society for outstanding service to Canadian bibliography and for distinguished publication in either English or French in that field. The award is accompanied by the Watters-Morley Prize, a fund created and endowed by William and Beth (Watters) Morley in honour of William Morley, winner of the Tremaine Medal in 1977, and the late Reginald Eyre Watters, winner of the Medal in 1979.
Dr. Connor is noted by the Bibliographical Society of Canada as being the country’s preeminent scholar of the history of medical print culture and notes her book, Guardians of Medical Knowledge: the Genesis of the Medical Library Association, as being ground-breaking and complemented by numerous scholarly articles that place Canada’s medical print culture in broader cultural and international contexts. She has defined an entire field of enquiry in Canada through her substantial and sustained successes in publication, leadership at conferences and in program development. Dr. Connor’s extensive contributions to bibliographical scholarly communities include her recent editorship of the Papers of the Bibliographical Society of Canada / Cahiers de la Société bibliographique du Canada. 
The Society says they are delighted to offer this recognition of Dr. Connor’s impressive contributions to advancing Canadian bibliographical scholarship. Dr. Connor accepted the awards at the Society’s 70th annual general meeting at McGill University in July.