Communications - News at Medicine - October 2019 - Dean’s notes – Oct. 29, 2019

Dean’s notes – Oct. 29, 2019
October 28, 2019
The last few weeks has involved welcoming several guests to St. John’s and the Faculty of Medicine as well as several celebrations.
The Meredith Marks Mentorship Award recognizes an individual who excels in the mentorship of those involved in medical education scholarship and innovation. This award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Meredith Marks who graduated from the Faculty of Medicine at Memorial in 1987. This year’s award recipient is Dr. Susan Humphrey-Murto, acting director of Core Research Unit within the Department of Innovation in Medical Education, director of the simulation Fellowship, director of Education Research, Department of Medicine and interim head of the Division of Rheumatology at the University of Ottawa. This award was especially meaningful to Dr. Humphrey-Murto who was a colleague and friend of Dr. Marks. While visiting us on October 15 and 16, Dr. Humphrey-Murto delivered a keynote address, offered a workshop and met with individual faculty members. I would like to thank Dr. Humprey-Murto for sharing her expertise, the faculty and staff who participated in the activities, and Drs. Vernon Curran and Steve Shorlin for organizing the two days of scheduled events.
Our New Brunswick team consisting of Dr. Todd Lambert, assistant dean, New Brunswick and Dr. Erica Holloway, assistant professor at both Memorial University and Dalhousie University and maternal fetal medicine physician with Horizon Health, along with Melissa Dunnett, program manager, and Lisa Russell, academic program assistant, travelled to St. John’s to meet with our New Brunswick students, faculty members and meet our administrators Dr. Paul Tucker, Ms. Tracey Pittman, Mr. Tony Martin and Ms. Janet Norman. The visit was a success as there were discussions about the potential of learning opportunities in New Brunswick for a variety of postgraduate learners in addition to discussions about undergraduate medical education.
The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC) travelled to St. John’s to hold a Town Hall for all fellows. There was good attendance and topics discussed included the Office of Professional Practice and Membership; Competence by Design and Maintenance of certification. Dr. Ford Bursey, Dr. Joanne Hickey and Dr. Kim St. John shared a panel with Dr. Peter Mu, a year one postgraduate resident in internal medicine, and Dr. Alex Ng, a year three postgraduate resident in internal medicine, to discuss Memorial’s experience in implementing competency based medical education from the learner and the faculty perspective. The panel was extremely well received with many important questions being asked. Congratulations to our participants.
On October 24, Memorial University’s 38th annual Alumni Tribute Awards took place at the Signal Hill Campus. Dr. Peter Collingwood, professor and interim chair of the Department of Radiology, won the J. D. Eaton Award for volunteer contributions to Memorial University, and Dr. Boluwaji Ogunyemi, clinical assistant professor and a dermatologist in community based practice, won the Horizon Award for exceptional achievement by a Memorial graduate 35 years of age and younger. Congratulations to Dr. Collingwood and Dr. Ogunyemi.

On October 25 and 26 the Faculty of Medicine reunion celebrations occurred. This was the second time we held the reunion activities with the Memorial University university-wide reunion. We had an excellent turnout with 86 alumni from the classes of 1974, 1979, 1984, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014.
Friday evening was a reception held in the Faculty of Medicine atrium and Saturday was our annual Continuing Medical Education program held at Signal Hill Campus. The talks were interesting and covered a wide range of topics including: the microbiome, project outreach, brain spotting, re-balancing long wait lists for specialist care and humour and medicine.
Many thanks to our speakers Dr. Valerie Taylor, psychiatrist and department head at the University of Calgary, professor at the Hotchkiss Brain Institute, MD ‘99; Dr. Ruth Connors, pediatric anesthesiologist, associate professor at the University of Calgary and founder of project outreach international child health clinical, MD ‘84; Dr. Jane Evans, psychiatrist and assistant professor at the University of Ottawa, MD ‘84; Dr. Colin Landells, orthopedic surgeon, clinical associate professor and associate head (Vancouver Island), University of British Columbia (UBC) Department of Orthopedics, Faculty of Medicine, discipline specific site leader for orthopaedic education, Island Medical Program, University of Victoria/UBC Faculty of Medicine, MD ‘79; and Dr. Bill Eaton, associate professor of family medicine and humour expert, MD ‘74. We had alumni from the United States, France, British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Newfoundland.
I would like to thank all the alumni who took time out of their busy schedule to attend the reunion. I would like to give special thanks to Tracey Munden, development associate, Dennis Dillon, senior development officer, Sherri Coombs, Office of Professional and Educational Development, Virginia Middleton, communications advisor, and Jennifer Armstrong, photographer, for ensuring reunion such a great success.
Finally, thank you to everyone who took part in the Faculty of Medicine Wellness Survey recently. I was very impressed with the number of responses. Your input is important as we build on our strengths and further our goal to support well-being for all faculty, staff and learners. Please take a few minutes to visit our Destination Excellence website for the latest updates on how we’re implementing the strategic plan.