News at Medicine - October 2016 - Top Doc award

Top Doc award
October 28, 2016
Dr. Pauline Duke has been named as a 2016 Family Physician of the Year by the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC).

Each year the CFPC honours 10 dedicated family doctors—one from each province—who provide exceptional care to patients, contribute to the well-being of their communities, and are committed to research and the education of future generations of family doctors. These national awards are also known as the Reg L. Perkin Awards.

Dr. Pauline Duke accepting her provincial award (Photo by Dennis Flynn)

Memorial alumnae and Family Medicine professor, Dr. Duke was recognized for her patient-centred care, work with local refugees, and commitment to teaching new generations of family doctors.
After receiving her medical degree from Memorial in 1979, Dr. Duke began her practice in Botwood. She received Certification in Family Medicine from the College of Family Physicians of Canada in 1989 and Fellowship in the College in 2004. Since 1989, she has been practising family medicine at the Family Practice Unit, Health Sciences Centre, in St. John’s. Dr. Duke’s comprehensive clinical practice includes house calls, home palliative care, geriatrics, prenatal care, and women’s health.
Dr. Duke provides comprehensive medical care to local refugees in the Refugee Health Clinic offered through the Family Practice Unit. Since 2005, she has been a faculty advisor of the Memorial Med Gateway Project—an initiative in which medical students provide medical histories and physical exam screening for new refugees. She has served on the national steering committee for Canadian Doctors for Refugee Care from 2012 to 2016.
Dr. Duke has been recognized for her work with several awards and she has served on a variety of committees. She also has numerous publications in the areas of medical education, violence against women and children, sexual assault, refugee health, women’s health, and HPV and cervical cancer screening.
“We are pleased to recognize the many accomplishments of this year’s Family Physicians of the Year, and celebrate their commitment to family medicine,” says CFPC executive director and CEO Francine Lemire, MD CM, CCFP, FCFP, CAE. “Nominated by their colleagues and respective provincial CFPC Chapters, the award recipients enrich our health care system and serve as an inspiration to us all.”
According to the CFPC, the award recipients embody the four principles of family medicine: They are skilled clinicians, they are community-based, they serve as resources for their communities, and they value the patient-doctor relationship.
The CFPC has paid tribute to family physicians exemplifying these guiding family medicine principles since 1972. In 1996, the College named the awards in honour of Dr. Reg L. Perkin, who served as the CFPC’s executive director from 1985 to 1996.

On Oct. 21, the Newfoundland Chapter of the CFPC held their annual awards and dinner event where Dr. Duke also received the provincial 2016 Family Physician of the Year award. It was that award which led to the nomination for the national award.
Other awards given at that event included, the 2016 NL CFPC Medical Student Oration Award which went to Mr. Christopher Grant for his 500 word essay on “The role of the Family Physician in Medical Assistance in Dying.” Christopher is a medical student and pharmacist from Mount Pearl. He graduated from the School of Pharmacy in 2012, and returned to Memorial in 2014 to begin studies at the Faculty of Medicine. Christopher recently began clerkship, and is expected to graduate in 2018. 
Dr. Wendy Graham, associate professor of Family Medicine, and Dr. Christopher Patey, clinical assistant professor of Emergency Medicine, received Awards of Excellence.
The CFPC will present the awards on Friday, Nov. 11 as part of the 2016 Family Doctor Week in Canada celebrations that take place November 7–12 and includes Family Medicine Forum in Vancouver, B.C.

Mr. Christopher Grant Dr. Wendy Graham Dr. Christopher Patey
Medical Student Oration Award Award of Excellence Award of Excellence