News at Medicine - June 2022 - 2022 Gairdner lecture

2022 Gairdner lecture
June 24, 2022
This year, the Gairdner lecture at Memorial University was delivered by Dr. Janet Rossant, both in-person and via a virtual platform on Monday, May 30, 2022. Dr. Rossant also received an Honorary Degree, Doctor of Science, from Memorial University at the Spring Convocation on May 31.
The Gairdner Awards were initiated through the vision of James A. Gairdner in 1957. The awards recognize the achievements of researchers whose work contributes to improving the quality of human life, and the lecture series brings the recipients to universities across Canada to share their ideas and work.
Photo submitted
From Left: Dr. Susan Dyer-Knight, Chancellor, Dr. Janet Rossant and Dr. Vianne Timmons, President and Vice-Chancellor at convocation.

Dr. Rossant received the Gairdner award in 2015. She is an accomplished and well respected biomedical scientist. Dr. Rossant is Senior Scientist Emeritus at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, ON, University Professor Emeritus at the University of Toronto, and currently the President the Scientific Director of the Gairdner Foundation. She is an internationally recognized developmental and stem cell biologist, exploring the biology of the early embryo and its stem cells and their applications to understanding and treating human disease.
She has received many honours and recognition for her work, including seven honorary degrees, and election to the Royal Societies of London and Canada and the US National Academy of Sciences. In 2018 she received the North American L’Oreal-UNESCO Women in Science Award and in 2021 the ISSCR Achievement Award.
Dr. Rossant has been actively involved in ethics and public policy discussions around stem cell research and genetic modification and the title of her talk was From mouse embryos to human stem cells and gene editing: scientific progress and ethical debates.
This lecture was hosted by Office of Research and Graduate Studies in the Faculty of Medicine, and attended by learners, staff, and faculty.