News at Medicine - July 2015 - Distinguished retired faculty member named professor emeritus

Distinguished retired faculty member named professor emeritus
July 15, 2015
Dr. Penny Hansen, former professor of physiology at the Faculty of Medicine is among seven Memorial University professors who have been accorded the distinction professor emeritus, an honour reserved for highly distinguished faculty members.
Dr. Hansen earned a bachelor of science in chemistry and a master of science in biochemistry at the University of Akron, Ohio, and a PhD in physiology at Memorial University. Over the years, her academic focus shifted from researching the control of compensatory renal growth and renal production of erythropoietin to teaching physiology and conducting research on biomedical curricula, the scholarship of teaching and interprofessional education.

She was the founding director of Memorial’s Centre for Collaborative Health Professional Education, and assistant dean for undergraduate medical studies. She received an American Physiological Society (APS) Arthur Guyton Educator of the Year Award, and was awarded an APS Claude Bernard Distinguished Lectureship, a Harvard-Macy Fellowship in Medical Education Reform and a national 3M Teaching Fellowship. Dr. Hansen is currently a vice-president of the International Union of Physiological Sciences and a part-time professor at the American University of Antigua’s School of Medicine.

A professor emeritus is a retired member of the faculty who has served at least 10 years as a regular full-time faculty member and held the rank of professor upon retirement. The prime criterion for nomination is a sustained and superlative record as a scholar, as a teacher, or as an academic administrator or any combination of these.

Candidates for the rank of professor emeritus are nominated by their academic units and, as with candidates for honorary degrees, the nominations are then reviewed by the Senate’s Committee on Honorary Degrees and Ceremonial. The candidates are approved by Senate and the Board of Regents.

Dr. Georg Gunther, Division of Science, Grenfell Campus; Dr. Jeremy Hall, Department of Earth Sciences, Faculty of Science; Dr. Sandra LeFort, School of Nursing; Dr. Christopher Sharpe, Department of Geography, Faculty of Arts; Dr. Shirley Solberg, School of Nursing; and Dr. Paul Wilson, Counselling Services, Grenfell Campus, have also been awarded the title. The group of professores emeriti will be publicly recognized at a future session of convocation.