News at Medicine - February 2019 - MED 3D Network takes home innovation award

MED 3D Network takes home innovation award
February 15, 2019
The Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC) named the MUN MED 3D team winner of the 2019 John Ruedy Award for Innovation in Medical Education.
2_sm.jpgThe award is named in honour of Dr. John Ruedy, a former Dean of Medicine at Dalhousie University, and is awarded to an individual or group who has developed innovative print materials, electronic learning aids or other teaching aids.
Three years ago, MUN MED 3D was created by three medical students, Michael Bartellas, Travis Pickett and Dr. Stephen Ryan under the guidance of two faculty members, Drs. Adam Dubrowski, Gary Paterno.
Late last year, Dr. Dubrowski and the team received more than $1.4 million from the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency to expand the existing MUN MED 3D laboratory at the Faculty of Medicine.
With this funding, the initial project grew into the MED 3D Network, an interconnected collective of design, 3D printing and simulation labs across the province including Carbonear, St. Anthony, Twillingate, Goose Bay, Port Aux Basques, and Saint John, New Brunswick.
With the state of the art 3D modeling and printing capabilities, MED 3D Network strives to advance simulation training and clinical application within regional healthcare authorities across the Atlantic Canada.
The MUN MED 3D team also includes Greg Walsh, project manager and engineer; Christine Goudie, research assistant and designer; and Nicole Bishop, research assistant.
“Simulation is the new standard in education and medical practice, and we are a unit that is able to help ensure our learners and patients benefit from that standard,” stated Dr. Adam Dubrowski, professor, emergency medicine, Faculty of Medicine in a 2018 Gazette article.
The award will be presented at the annual AFMC Presidential Address and Award Ceremony at the Canadian Conference on Medical Education in April.

Photo submitted: ‚ÄčThe MUN Med 3D team (back row, from left) Christine Goudie, Dr. Adam Dubrowski, Michael Bartellas, Dr. Stephen Ryan, Greg Walsh and (front row, from left), Tybalt Lea (former student intern), Nicole Bishop and Travis Pickett.