Discipline of Medicine

Program Organization

The Residency Program Committee (RPC) assists the Program Director in the planning, organization, and evaluation of the Residency Program. The Committee will include representation from each participating site, each major component of the Program and will include resident representation. 

The RPC consists of : 

Voting Members

Dr. David Jones - Program Director 
Dr. Ian MacPherson - Assistant Program Director
Dr. Jamie Farrell - HSC CTU Representative
Dr. Frederic Paulin - Cardiology Representative
Dr. Jatin Morkar - General Internal Medicine Program Director/R4 Representative
Dr. Joanne Hickey -
Chair, Curriculum Committee
Dr. Gokul Vidyasankar - Chair, Promotions Committee/Competency Committee
Dr. Cathy Murray - Chair, Medical Education Committee
Dr. Gillian Morrison -  Chief Resident
Dr. Tom Dunne - Chief Resident 
Dr. Brendan Parfrey - Member-At-Large
Dr. Meghan Mahoney - PGY1 Representative

Non-voting Members

Dr. Richard Lush - Community Medicine Representative - Grand Falls - Windsor site
Dr. David Carroll - Community Medicine Representative - Gander site
Dr. Joshua Gould - Community Medicine Respresentative - Corner Brook site
Dr. Paul Young - SCMH Representative
Dr. Megan McGarry - New Brunswick Representative - Saint John site
Dr. Erin Powell - Wellness Committee Liaison

Dr. Cassidy Brothers - Teaching Resident
Dr. Alvan Buckley - Teaching Resident


Dr. Sean Murphy - Chair, Discipline of Medicine

There are 4 subcommittees of the RPC – Resident Curriculum (RCC), Competency/Promotions  (CPC), Wellness (WC), PGY1 Selections. The RPC will receive reports directly from these subcommittee and the Medical Education Committee (MEC). 

Program Committee Terms of Reference

RPC Competency/Promotions Subcommittee Terms of Reference

Competency/Promotions Subcommittee Description

Medical Education Committee Terms of Reference

Curriculum Committee Terms of Reference