Division of Community Health and Humanities

Faculty

A glimpse through the curricula vitae of the Divisional core faculty reveals an assortment of experts from a variety of fields, including human resources in health, infectious diseases, gender and health, ethics, biostatistics, health policy, epidemiology, zoonotic diseases, and nutrition.  This multidisciplinary makeup of the group allows them to work together to address a broad spectrum of research issues and to design a wide and relevant scope of research projects.

A summary of our Core Faculty Research Interests is provided.
 

Wilson, Brenda - MBChB MSc MRCP(UK) FFPH
Professor & Associate Dean, Community Health and Humanities
Audas, Rick - BBA (New Brunswick), MBA, MA (Dalhousie), PhD (Wales)
Professor Health Statistics & Economics
Beausoleil, Natalie - BA (Laval), MA, PhD (UCLA)
Professor of Social Science and Health
Bornstein, Stephen - BA (Toronto); MA, PhD (Harvard)
Professor
Brunger, Fern - BA (Hons) (University of Winnipeg), MA (McGill), PhD (McGill)
Professor of Health Care Ethics
Curran, Vernon - B.A. Memorial, Dip.Ad.Ed. St. Francis Xavier, M.Ed. Dalhousie, Post Grad. Cert. British Columbia, Ph.D. Guelph
Professor of Medical Education
Associate Dean of Educational Development
De Carvalho, Diana - DC, MSc., PhD
Associate Professor of Clinical Epidemiology
Etchegary, Holly - PhD
Associate Professor of Clinical Epidemiology
Flynn, Jennifer - BAH (Queen's), MA (Queen's), Ph.D. (Virginia)
Associate Professor of Bioethics
Gadag, Veeresh - BSc (Karnatak), MPhil, PhD (Poona)
Professor of Biostatistics
Gao, Zhiwei - Ph.D., M.Sc., M.D., Tianjin Medical University (Tianjin, China)
Associate Professor of Clinical Epidemiology
Hodgkinson, Kathleen - Ph.D. (Memorial)
Professor of Clinical Epidemiology
Kaposy, Chris - BA (McMaster), MA (Concordia), PhD (State University of NY)
Associate Professor of Bioethics
Director, Master of Health Ethics program
Maddalena, Victor - BN, MHSA, PhD (Dalhousie)
Associate Professor in Health Policy and Health Service Delivery
Midodzi, William - Postdoc., Ph.D., MSc. (U of Alberta, CA), BSc (KNUST, Ghana)
Associate Professor of Clinical Epidemiology
Mugford, Gerry - CMH, B.Sc., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Clinical Epidemiology
Mulay, Shree - BSc (Delhi), MSc (McGill), PhD (McGill), Post-doctoral Fellow (McGill)
Professor, Community Health and Humanities
Power, Sarah - B.Eng., Memorial University of Newfoundland MaSc., University of Toronto Ph.D., University of Toronto
Associate Professor, Ph.D., P.Eng.
Prowse, Rachel - BSc (University of Manitoba), RD (Manitoba Partnership Dietetic Education Program), PhD (University of Alberta)
Assistant Professor of Nutrition and Dietetics
Pullman, Daryl - M.A., Ph.D. Waterloo, B.Ed. Western
Professor of Medical Ethics
Sarkar, Atanu - MBBS (Burdwan, India), MCH & PhD (JNU, New Delhi, India), MES (Queen’s University, Canada)
Associate Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health
Shan, Desai - Post-doctoral Fellow (Dalhousie, uOttawa), PhD (Cardiff), LLB (Dalian Maritime University, Nottingham)
Assistant Professor of Occupational Health Safety
Shea, Jennifer M. - BA(Hons) MA (Memorial), PhD (University of Saskatchewan)
Assistant Professor of Aboriginal Health
Twells, Laurie - B.A. Memorial, M.Sc. London, Ph.D. Memorial
Professor of Medicine
Valcour, James - BSc, MSc, PhD (Guelph)
Associate Professor of Epidemiology
Wang, Peizhong Peter - MD, MPH (Tianjin Medical University), PhD (Toronto)
Professor of Epidemiology
Yi, Yanqing - MSc (China), MSc & PhD (Manitoba)
Professor of Biostatistics
Zendel, Benjamin - BA (Calgary), MA, PhD (Toronto)
Associate Professor in Aging and Auditory Neuroscience
Canada Research Chair in Aging and Auditory Neuroscience

Assistant Dean of Social Accountability

Ogunyemi, Boluwaji BSc (Western), MD (Memorial), FRCPC, DABD
Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine (Dermatology)

Per Course and Teaching Term

Grynszpan, Delphine
Teaching Term Instructor
Email: dgrynszpan@mun.ca
 
Whalen, Cynthia
Per Course Instructor
Email: n27cmc@mun.ca

Cross-Appointments

Asghari, Shabnam  MD (Arak, Iran), MPH, PhD (Tehran, Iran)
Discipline of Family Medicine
Email: Shabnam.Asghari@med.mun.ca
http://www.med.mun.ca/Medicine/Faculty/Asghari,-Shabnam.aspx

Aubrey-Bassler, Kris MSc, MD (Ottawa) CCFP(EM) (McMaster)
Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
Director, Centre for Rural Health Studies
Email:  kaubrey@mun.ca

Chafe, Roger PhD, MA (Memorial)
Janeway Pediatric Research Unit
Email:  Roger.chafe@med.mun.ca

Cullen, Kim
Assistant Professor, Human Kinetics
Email:  kcullen@mun.ca

Cunsolo, Ashlee  PhD, Rural Studies (University of Guelph)
Director, Labrador Institute of Memorial University
Email: ashlee.cunsolo@mun.ca  

Fuller, Daniel  PhD, Public Health (Université de Montréal)
Assistant Professor and CRC in Population Physical Activity
School of Human Kinetics and Recreation, Memorial University
Email:  dfuller@mun.ca

Gosine, Jane
Professor, School of Music
Email:  jgosine@mun.ca

Hall, Amanda
Assistant Professor, Discipline of Family Medicine
Email:  amanda.hall@med.mun.ca

Iqbal, Sahar MD, MSc (Memorial University) FRCPC (Royal College of Physicians of Canada) FACP
Department of Internal Medicine
Email:  sjiqbal@mun.ca 

Lukewich, Julia PhD in Nursing, (Queen’s University, Kingston, ON)
Assistant Professor, School of Nursing
Email:  jlukewich@mun.ca

Pike, April
Associate Professor, School of Nursing
Email:  aprilpike@mun.ca

Ploughman, Michelle
Associate Professor, Division of BioMedical Sciences
Email:  mploughman@mun.ca

Tenkorang, Eric PhD, MA (University of Western Ontario)
Associate Professor of Sociology
Email: eytenkorang@mun.ca

Adjunct Professors

Bull, Julie
Email:  julierbull@gmail.com

Dickson, Karen
Email:  Karen.Dickson@med.mun.ca

Howarth, Samuel
Email: SHowarth@cmcc.ca

Knight, John BSc(Hons), MSc, PhD (Memorial)
Adjunct Professor
[NL Centre for Health Information]
Email: John.Knight@med.mun.ca 

MacDonald, Donald
Email:  don.macdonald@nlchi.nl.ca

Mathews, Maria
Email:  maria.mathews@schulich.uwo.ca

Pollock, Nathaniel
Email:  Nathaniel.Pollock@med.mun.ca

Sitter, Kathleen PhD MSw (University of Calgary)
Adjunct Professor
Assistant Professor, School of Social Work, University of Calgary
Email:  kcsitter@ucalgary.ca

Stuckless, Susan
Email:  c45sns@mun.ca

Ward, Pamela BN, MEd, PhD (Memorial)
Adjunct Professor
[Centre for Nursing Studies]
Email: pamela.ward@mun.ca

Wilson, Robert
Email:  robert.wilson@med.mun.ca

Clinical Faculty

Allison, Jill BA (University of Regina); MA; PhD (Memorial)
Clinical Assistant Professor
Email: Jill.allison@med.mun.ca

Barrowman, Barbara BSc (Queen's) LLB (Toronto), MD (Memorial)
Clinical Assistant Professor of Health Law
Dept. of Justice, Govt. of NL

Doyle, Mike PhD (Memorial)
Clinical Assistant Professor
[Dept. of Health & Community Services, Govt. of NL]
Email: Mike.Doyle@easternhealth.ca
                        
Eliott, Pam BN, MBA, PhD (Memorial)
Clinical Assistant Professor

Grynszpan, Delphine
Clinical Assistant Professor
Email: dgrynszpan@mun.ca

Sturge Sparkes, Carolyn BEd, MEd, (Memorial), BMus (Mount Allison), PhD (McGill)
Clinical Assistant Professor
[Program Coordinator: Aboriginal Health Initiative]
Email: carolyn.sturge@med.mun.ca

Varghese, Suja MSc (MED)
Clinical Lecturer

Professor Emeriti

Fodor, George MD, PhD (Prague), FRCPC
Professor Emeritus

West, Roy MSc, PhD (McGill)
Professor Emeritus
Email: roywest@mun.ca

Honorary Research Professors

Buehler, Sharon  BA (Illinois College), MA (Indiana), PhD (Memorial)
Honorary Research Professor of Epidemiology
Email: skb@mun.ca

Donovan, Catherine BMedSC, MD (Memorial University), MHSc (British Columbia)
Email: donovanc@mun.ca

Gustafson, Diana BA (McMaster), MEd (Brock), PhD (Toronto)
Email:   diana.gustafson@med.mun.ca

Heath, Olga BA (Toronto), MSc (Memorial), PhD (Memorial)
Email:  oheath@mun.ca

Roebothan, Barbara
Email:  broeboth@mun.ca

Traverso-Yepez, Martha PhD (Universidad Complutense, Madrid)
Email:  mtraverso@mun.ca



Last Updated: June, 2020