Please Enter a Search Term
AdmissionsCommunicationsDivision/DisciplineEducationFaculty/StaffLeadershipResearchStudents
Division of Community Health and Humanities

Faculty

Core Faculty 


A glimpse through the curricula vitae of the Divisional core faculty reveals an assortment of experts from a variety of fields, including human resources in health, infectious diseases, gender and health, ethics, biostatistics, health policy, epidemiology, zoonotic diseases, and nutrition.  This multidisciplinary makeup of the group allows them to work together to address a broad spectrum of research issues and to design a wide and relevant scope of research projects.

A summary of our Core Faculty Research Interests is provided.
 

Wilson, Brenda - MBChB MSc MRCP(UK) FFPH
Associate Dean, Community Health and Humanities
Audas, Rick - BBA (New Brunswick), MBA, MA (Dalhousie), PhD (Wales)
Associate Professor Health Statistics and Economics
Beausoleil, Natalie - BA (Laval), MA, PhD (UCLA)
Professor of Social Science and Health
Brunger, Fern - BA (Hons) (University of Winnipeg), MA (McGill), PhD (McGill)
Professor of Health Care Ethics
Donovan, Catherine - BMedSC, MD (Memorial University), MHSc (British Columbia)
Associate Professor of Clinical Public Health
Flynn, Jennifer - BAH (Queen's), MA (Queen's), Ph.D. (Virginia)
Assistant Professor of Bioethics
Director, Master of Health Ethics program
Gadag, Veeresh - BSc (Karnatak), MPhil, PhD (Poona)
Professor of Biostatistics
Gustafson, Diana L - BA (McMaster), MEd (Brock), PhD (Toronto)
Professor of Social Science and Health
Richard Marceau Fogo Island Fellow 2018
Kaposy, Chris - BA (McMaster), MA (Concordia), PhD (State University of NY)
Associate Professor of Bioethics
Maddalena, Victor - BN, MHSA, PhD (Dalhousie)
Associate Professor in Health Policy and Health Service Delivery
Mathews, Maria - BA, BSc (Calgary), MHSA (Alberta), PhD (Toronto)
Professor of Health Policy/Health Care Delivery
Mulay, Shree - BSc (Delhi), MSc (McGill), PhD (McGill), Post-doctoral Fellow (McGill)
Professor, Community Health and Humanities
Najafizada, Maisam - MA, PhD (University of Ottawa), MD (Balkh University, Afghanistan)
Assistant Professor, Public Policy/Public Health/Population Health
Neville, Doreen - BN (Memorial), MScN (Toronto), SM, ScD (Harvard)
Associate Professor of Health Care Policy and Delivery (on Leave)
Pullman, Daryl - M.A., Ph.D. Waterloo, B.Ed. Western
Professor of Medical Ethics
Roebothan, Barbara - BSc (MUN), MSc (Saskatchewan), PhD (MUN), RDt
Professor of Community Health (Dietetics/Nutrition)
Sarkar, Atanu - MBBS (Burdwan, India), MCH & PhD (JNU, New Delhi), MES (Queen’s)
Associate Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health
Shea, Jennifer M. - BA(Hons) MA (Memorial), PhD (University of Saskatchewan)
Assistant Professor of Aboriginal Health
Traverso-Yepez, Martha - PhD (Universidad Complutense, Madrid)
Associate Professor of Health Promotion/Social Determinants of Health
Valcour, James - BSc, MSc, PhD (Guelph)
Associate Professor of Epidemiology
Wang, Peizhong Peter - MD, MPH (Tianjin Medical University), PhD (Toronto)
Professor of Epidemiology
Yi, Yanqing - MSc (China), MSc & PhD (Manitoba)
Associate Professor of Biostatistics
Zendel, Benjamin - BA (Calgary), MA, PhD (Toronto)
Assistant Professor in Aging and Auditory Neuroscience
Canada Research Chair in Aging and Auditory Neuroscience


Part-Time Faculty

David Allison, MD (Queen's), FRCPC
Clinical Associate Professor of Community Medicine
Telephone number: 709-579-6114
Email: dallison@nl.rogers.com

Barbara Barrowman, BSc (Queen's) LLB (Toronto), MD (Memorial)
Clinical Assistant Professor of Health Law
[Dept. of Justice, Govt. of NL]

 

Affiliated Faculty

Clinical Faculty
 

Jill Allison, BA (University of Regina); MA; PhD (Memorial)
Clinical Assistant Professor (2014 to 2017)
[Program Co-ordinator - Global Health Office]
Email: Jill.allison@med.mun.ca

Mike Doyle, PhD (Memorial)
Clinical Assistant Professor (2007)
[Dept. of Health & Community Services, Govt. of NL]
Email: Mike.Doyle@easternhealth.ca
                        
Pam Eliott, BN, MBA, PhD (Memorial)
Clinical Assistant Professor (2001)

Christine A. Kennedy, BA, MSc (Memorial); MD (Calgary); MS DPhil (Oxford); CCFP; FRCPC
Clinical Assistant Professor (2013)
[Community Primary Care Physician]
Email: christine.kennedy@med.mun.ca

Fiona O'Shea, MB, BCh, BAO, LRCP & SP, NUL (Royal College of Surgeons, Dublin, Ireland)
Clinical Assistant Professor (2017 to 2020)
Email: foshea@shaw.ca

Sam Ratnam, MSc (Madras), PhD (Delhi)
Clinical Professor (2004)
Discipline of Laboratory Medicine 

Sandra Reid, Master of Bioethics and Health Law Degree
Professional Associate (2015 to 2018)
[Ethics Director, Health Research Ethics Authority (HREA)]
Email: sandra.reid@hrea.ca

Claudia Sarbu, MD (University of Medicine and Pharmacy of Targu Mures, Romania)
Clinical Assistant Professor in Community Health and Humanities (2016)
[Regional Medical Officer of Health with Eastern Health]
Email: Claudia.Sarbu@easternhealth.ca

Carolyn Sturge Sparkes, BEd, MEd, (Memorial), BMus (Mount Allison), PhD (McGill)
Clinical Assistant Professor (2014 to 2017)
[Program Coordinator: Aboriginal Health Initiative]
Email: carolyn.sturge@med.mun.ca

Suja Varghese, MSc (MED)
Clinical Lecturer (2006)

Elizabeth Wright, BN, BSc (Memorial), MSc (McGill)
Professional Associate
[Epidemiologist, Public Health Agency of Canada]
Email: elizabeth.wright@phac-aspc.gc.ca

 

Professor Emeriti

George Fodor, MD, PhD (Prague), FRCPC
Professor Emeritus

Roy West, MSc, PhD (McGill)
Professor Emeritus
Email: roywest@mun.ca



Honorary Research Professors

Bill Bavington, BA (Graceland College), MD (Toronto), DTMH (Liverpool), MPH (Johns Hopkins), FACPM, FRCPC
Honorary Research Professor
Email: bbavingt@mun.ca

Sharon Buehler, BA (Illinois College), MA (Indiana), PhD (Memorial)
Honorary Research Professor of Epidemiology
Email: skb@mun.ca

John Crellin, BPharm, LRCP, MPS, MRCS, MSc, PhD (London)
Honorary Research Professor
Email: jcrellin@mun.ca

 

Adjunct Professors

John Knight, BSc(Hons), MSc, PhD (Memorial)
Adjunct Professor (2016 to 2019)
[NL Centre for Health Information]
Email: John.Knight@med.mun.ca  John.knight@nlchi.nl.ca

Rick SingletonPhD (Oxford, UK); Doctorate of Ministry (Indiana); Master of Divinity (London, ON); BA (Memorial)
Adjunct Professor (2015 to 2018)
[Director of Student Programs, Faculty of Theology, Queen's College, St. John's]
[Associate Professor, Ethics and Pastoral Studies, Faculty of Theology]
Email: r.singleton@mun.ca

Kathleen Sitter, PhD MSw (University of Calgary)
Adjunct Professor (2017 to 2010)
Assistant Professor, School of Social Work, University of Calgary
Email:  kcsitter@ucalgary.ca

Pamela Ward, BN, MEd, PhD (Memorial)
Adjunct Professor (2015 to 2018)
[Centre for Nursing Studies]
Email: pamela.ward@mun.ca

 

Cross-Appointments

Shabnam Asghari, MD (Arak, Iran), MPH, PhD (Tehran, Iran)
Discipline of Family Medicine (2014 to 2017)
http://www.med.mun.ca/Medicine/Faculty/Asghari,-Shabnam.aspx

Kris Aubrey-Bassler, MSc, MD (Ottawa) CCFP(EM) (McMaster)
Assistant Professor of Family Medicine (2016 to 2019)
Director, Centre for Rural Health Studies
Email:  kaubrey@mun.ca

Roger Chafe, PhD, MA (Memorial)
Janeway Pediatric Research Unit (2016 to 2019)
Email:  Roger.chafe@med.mun.ca

Kevin Chan, MD MPH FRCPC FAAP (University of Ottawa)
Cross-appointment (2017 to 2020)
Chair, Pediatrics, Memorial University; Clinical Chief, Children's Health, Eastern Health
Email: kevin.chan@easternhealth.ca

Ashlee Cunsolo,  PhD, Rural Studies (University of Guelph)
Director, Labrador Institute of Memorial University (2017 to 2020)
Email: ashlee.cunsolo@mun.ca  

Daniel Fuller,  PhD, Public Health (Université de Montréal)
Assistant Professor and CRC in Population Physical Activity (2017 to 2019)
School of Human Kinetics and Recreation, Memorial University
Email:  dfuller@mun.ca

Sahar Iqbal, MD, MSc (Memorial University) FRCPC (Royal College of Physicians of Canada) FACP
Department of Internal Medicine (2016 to 2019)
Email:  sjiqbal@mun.ca 

Julia Lukewich, PhD in Nursing, (Queen’s University, Kingston, ON)
Assistant Professor, School of Nursing (2016 to 2019)
Email:  jlukewich@mun.ca

Christopher Smith, PhD, MA, BA (York University, Toronto)
Assistant Professor of Social Work (2016 to 2019)
Email: csmith13@mun.ca

Eric Tenkorang, PhD, MA (University of Western Ontario)
Assistant Professor of Sociology (2016 to 2019)
Email: eytenkorang@mun.ca


Joint Appointment

Stephen Bornstein, BA (Toronto), MA, PhD (Harvard)
Director, Centre of Applied Health Research (2016 to 2017)
http://www.mun.ca/posc/people/bornstein.php

Olga Heath, BA (Toronto), MSc (Memorial), PhD (Memorial)
Joint appointment with the University Counseling Centre and the Faculty of Medicine, Division of Community Health and Humanities.
Email: oheath@mun.ca

Last Updated: September 26, 2017



 

 
Copyright © 2018 Memorial University of Newfoundland.   Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada.