Please Enter a Search Term
 
"Building a Healthy Tomorrow"  TM
AdmissionsCommunicationsDivision/DisciplineEducationFaculty/StaffLeadershipResearchStudents
Aboriginal Health Initiative

MCAT Prep Grant

Grants for First Nations/Inuit/Metis (Southern Inuit) Applicants to Prepare for the Medical College Admissions Test (MCAT)

2016-2017

 

Introduction

As you know completing the MCAT is a mandatory part of your application for admission into medicine at Memorial University of Newfoundland. Are you looking into writing this test?  A grant to a maximum amount of $1,000 is now available through the Aboriginal Health Initiative at Memorial's Faculty of Medicine to help you prepare for taking this important step.

 

MCAT Preparation Possibilities

There are multiple options available to you. You could opt for self-directed study using MCAT materials such as books, CD’s and on-line tests; hire a tutor; or, take a MCAT preparation seminar, available either on-site or possibly on-line. The route taken ultimately depends on you, your preference, and your situation.

 

Applying for the Grant

Consideration will be given to applicants who demonstrate strong potential for admittance into medical school. To apply, please submit a completed application along with the following documentation:

 

  1. Verification that you are an Aboriginal person (either status or non-status) in the province of Newfoundland and Labrador;
  2. Letter of support from a leader in your community;
  3. University transcript indicating registration in an undergraduate program or proof of graduation;
  4. University transcript indicating level of academic competitiveness and/or evidence of academic improvement;
  5. A short essay (maximum of two pages) stating why you wish to pursue medicine as a career.

 

A committee will review all applications and make the selections. You can expect notification within 2 months of your application submission.

Grants will be provided to applicants (up to a maximum of 10 per calendar year) from the following Aboriginal communities in Newfoundland and Labrador: Miawpukek First Nation; Mushuau Innu Nation of Labrador, Nunatsiavut, NunatuKavut, Qalipu Mi’kmaq First Nation Band, and, Sheshatshiu Innu Nation of Labrador. Funding may also be available from your community. For information, contact your community representative indicated in the following list:

Miawpukek First Nation: Cyrus Lambert, clambert@mfngov.ca or (709) 882-1272

Nunatsiavut: Lucy Brennan, lbrennan@nunatsiavut.com or (709) 754-2587

NunatuKavut: Debbie Goudie, dgoudie@nunatukavut.ca or (709) 896-0592, ext. 223 or Billie Dyson, bdyson@nunatukavut.ca or (709) 896-0592, ext. 227

Qalipu Mi’kmaq First Nation Band: Monique Carroll, mcarroll@qalipu.ca or (709) 647-3096

Sheshatshiu Innu First Nation: Kanani Penashue Davis, kdavis@innueducation.ca  or (709) 497-8731, ext. 227
 

If you have any questions about this grant program please contact Dr. Carolyn Sturge Sparkes, AHI program coordinator by e-mail: carolyn.sturge@med.mun.ca
 
Copyright © 2017 Memorial University of Newfoundland.   Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada.